Please Meet: Zenobia Southcombe, artist and illustrator, from New Zealand (and etsy)

Standard

Zenobia's cat Kairi, with a sample of Zee's work

Introduction:

Hi guys! My name is Zenobia Southcombe, and I make fine art & illustrations which I sell through my self-titled shop on Etsy. I’m a New Zealander at heart, but have a rich cultural background of British, Indian & Portuguese running through my veins. People describe me as a friendly, down-to-earth person who’s a good listener (since I started blogging, I’m going to add “good reader” to that as well). I love learning more about the creative processes and interests of the artists and designers I admire. Although I’m only 22, I’m a nana at heart – preferring a cuppa tea and a book over a night out any day!

Zenobia's Creative Space

Where did your creative journey begin?

Wow. Hard question. I think my creative journey really began the day I was born. For me, creativity is about exploration and experimentation, and that’s what I’ve done, and try to do, every day.

Pirate Ship in Moonnlight

What kinds of things excite and inspire you?

A beautiful New Zealand sunset or sunrise; a new pen; a challenge; children’s art & ideas; other artwork; my friends and family; Mission Bay (this is my thinking spot – I drive their when I need space); people I relate to and admire.

Portrait of Pirate Captain David Nau

What is the most difficult creative challenge you’ve faced and how did you overcome it? Or are you currently tackling it?

Finding ‘my style’. As most people suggest when giving advice for finding a style of work that suits you, and building a body of work, the only way to do this is to make lots of work! This was harder for me as a part-time artist, and it happened in baby steps & falls. I am still on the way, but am very comfortable with Pen & Ink illustration now, and am well on the path towards a body of work that reflects my art & ideas. One thing I found particularly helpful was writing an artist’s statement, which you can find on my blog.

What dreams do you have for the future of your creative business?

After I teach for some time, I would like to head into Art Therapy. In the near future, I would like to build my body of work, and be involved in more local community projects (I like being useful). In terms of my art ‘business, I would like it to grow moderately, and intend to try selling at an art & craft fair when summer comes around.

Pen & Ink Small Pleasures of New Zealand

Links, please share where you would like people to view your work or interact with you…

If you’re in New Zealand, find me on The Big Idea. I am also a member of NZ Art Guild so you can find me on there once my profile is up, the big idea

Blog

Available Work

Follow me receive discounts and updates: facebook and twitter

6 responses »

  1. I love how the feature has turned out. Thanks so much for returning the favour and featuring me on your site, Starry.

    • you are most welcome, it has been great getting to know you and I look forward to sharing many blog and etsy experiences as we go on our creative journeys.

    • Thanks! It was the second painting I’ve ever made that I was truly happy with (I can be a perfectionist at the best of times).

      I really appreciate the compliment – have a good one & take care!

  2. Pingback: 6 Reasons to start Featuring Artists on your Blog « ZENOBIA SOUTHCOMBE Fine Art & Illustration

Leave a Reply

