Songs About Birds

Standard

sing me softly, necklace

I have been collecting songs about birds for a while now and I thought I’d share some of my favourites from my list, and hopefully you know a song or two about birds that you’d be happy to tell me about… because, you know, I want more!

Blackbird by the Beatles, or covered by Evan Rachel Wood is hard to beat.

I also loved to hear Bye Bye Blackbird by Joe Cocker when I heard it used in the soundtrack to Sleepless in Seattle.

Seven Swans by Sufjan Stevens has me quite spellbound.

Birds by Bic Runga.

Little Bird  by Rachael Cantu

Lost Bird by Syd Matters (as an aside, I can tell you I quite enjoy following Syd’s musical choices on itunes ping)

Big Bird in a Small Cage by Patrick Watson is one of my favourites, though with him it is hard to pick favourites.

and I love Serena Matthews’ songs about birds, I discovered her while looking for songs about birds, and I love both Blackbird Fly Away and Bluebirds Can’t Cry.

One response »

Leave a Reply

