Living & Creating: the challenges and perks of taking part in a photography challenge

Standard

You Will Always Be Loved

 

Well, what could possibly be keeping me so busy in the midst of winter, which is my traditional slow period for my online shops? I’ll tell you, I’m taking part in the Maddabling 22 Day Photography Challenge this is, as you might have guessed, a 22 day event involving photography where participants take a photograph a day, everyday, on a set theme chosen by our gorgeous hostess Maddo. I agreed to take part before the list of themes was published, and I have to admit I was daunted when the themes were later revealed… gulp… some very cryptic themes because they have come from album titles from the 1990’s Indies music scene. After a slight freak out, I decided I was up to the challenge, and at only day 9 (plenty more puzzling creativity to come) I am so very glad.

I have taken photographs of things I never would have bothered with before, and most importantly I have challenged not just my camera skills, not just my editing skills, but my creative thinking and passion for assembling or designing a shoot.

On day one (theme: Around The House) I built a house out of paper, then made confetti stars to circle around it – these were ever so painstakingly arranged one at a time with tweezers. I had to figure out a paper pattern template myself. So my craft skills had a work out too.

The Party House

I have since played with the physics of effervescent drinks and floating drinking straws (for the theme: tilt); dissected a seed pod and had a wonderful time discovering unexpected structure within for the theme: pod; and dug out my old vinyl EPs for today’s theme: The Three EPs.

 

Pod

Blue Lines

 

And if you are curious, my very top photo, You Will Always Be Loved was my tribute to the theme: XO

So I can already thank my lucky stars that I took part in this challenge, as by the end of it my skills – technical and imaginative – as well as my portfolio will have grown tremendously. If you would like to keep track of all the contributed photographs please pop into Maddabling’s blog

And, finally, I am going to be sending out a Starzyia newsletter once a month via email, if you would like to subscribe please do so, I’d love it!

 

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Announcing: the Starzyia 21 Day Photography Challenge « starzyia

Leave a Reply

